All Breathing Styles In Demon Slayer Explained

Breathing Techniques in Demon slayer has intrigued fans globally. Here we give detailed insights on them.

demon slayer breathing techniques

Breathing styles- the main technique that gives demon slayers their strength- is arguably one of the most appealing factors from the series. Not only are the forms fascinating, but so are their origins.

Demon Slayer Breathing Techniques are swordsmanship styles that are practised by the Demon Slayer Corps.

By using specific and concentrated breathing patterns, the user’s physical ability and concentration are heightened, due to the increased amount of oxygen in the blood.

This allows them to surpass human limitations and fight on equal terms with Demons.

How Many Breathing Styles Are There in Demon Slayer?

In the Demon Slayer universe, there are 14 breathing techniques in all. Now, for a quick lesson from Rengoku: 

Rengoku explaining Demon SLayer Breathing Techniques in Detail
The first insight readers get in the interesting world of Breaths used by Demon Slayers

These styles then influence the colour of the nichirin blades. However, we absolutely cannot forget the Breath of Moon– used by Kokushibo.

A. Breath of the Sun (Hinokami Kagura) Demon Slayer Breathing Technique

Breath of the Sun is the first demon slayer breathing technique ever made. It was made by Tsugikuni Yoriichi. This style serves as the base for the six main types of breathing, which are discussed further in the article.

There are thirteen forms in this style, with the thirteenth form being the previous twelve forms performed continuously.

This breathing style is only known to the male members of the Kamado family, who pass it down as a rite of passage along with the Hanafuda earrings.

Why Is It Known As Hinokami Kagura Or The Dance Of The Fire God?

The ritual uses Sun Breathing, therefore managing to hide its existence in a disguise of a dance. Muzan and Kokushibo managed to kill explicit users of Sun Breathing before. Therefore, this disguise is essential to keep the style alive!

Let’s go over the six breathing styles derived from the Breath of the Sun and their own subsequent derivations. 

1. Demon Slayer Breathing Technique: Breath of Flame

Rule number one, don’t call it Breath of Fire.

This breathing style is a generational form of breathing used by Rengoku Kyoujurou’s ancestors. Breath of Flame contains nine forms, though forms six to eight are unknown. In the manga, Rengoku Kyoujurou is the only active user.

flame breathing
The trailer for the film manages to show us glimpses of this breathing style!

1-a. Demon Slayer Breathing Technique: Breath of Love

This Breathing style, containing six forms, is derived from Breath of Flame and is only used by Kanroji Mitsuri. This is because of her superhuman-Esque muscle density and agility.

Kanroji using Demon Slayer Breathing Technique of Love
How does Mitsuri manage to be cute and fierce at the same time?

2. Demon Slayer Breathing Technique: Breath of Water

Breath of water is the most common breathing style.

It has the most number of users in the manga: Urokodaki Sakonji, also regarded as the Cultivator of the style, Tomioka Giyu (the Current Water Pillar and our favourite sad boy)  Sabito and Makamo, and the protagonist, Tanjiro.

Fun fact: even Murata uses it.

Giyu made an original form of his own, known as Ju Ichi no Kata: Nagi (Eleventh Form: Dead Calm), in which he defends himself at undetectable speed, giving the illusion that he barely moved.

Therefore, the tally of forms in this breathing style is now eleven.

There are two derivations from Breath of Water which is the Breath of Flower, and the Breath of Serpent.

2-a. Demon Slayer Breathing Technique: Breath of Flower

The users of Breath of Flower include former Hashira Kocho Kanae, and her adoptive sister Tsuyuri Kanao.

This is the only breathing form from which another style has been derived. This breathing style has seven forms, with the first form unknown.

flower breathing
To combine something as delicate as a flower with the harshness of fighting was a great contrast!

That is the style used by Kanae’s younger sister, Shinobu, which is the Breath of Insect. 

2-a.a. Demon Slayer Breathing Technique: Breath of Insect

Breath of Insect is a breathing style unique to Kocho Shinobu, who lacks the strength to cut off the head of a demon. This style focuses more on thrusting and stabbing which are two ways to inject Wisteria poison into the body of a demon. It has four forms.

insect breathing

2-b. Demon Slayer Breathing Technique: Breath of Serpent

Breath of Serpent is a breathing style used by Iguro Obanai in Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba.

The technique, owing to its name, focuses on attacks that “slither”, and gives the user the ability to strike from anywhere. It has five forms.

serpent breathing

3. Demon Slayer Breathing Technique: Breath of Thunder

Breath of Thunder is unique in the sense that it focuses more on leg strength subsequently giving users their “lightning” speed (great pun, I know).

The users of this breathing style mentioned in Demon Slayer are Kuwajima Jigoro (Cultivator), Agatsuma Zenitsu, and later Upper Moon Six Demon Kaigaku.

Initially, the breathing style consists of six forms, but as we see in the manga, Zenitsu manages to make his own during his battle with Kaigaku, known as Shichi no Kata: Honoikazuchi no Kami (Seventh Form: Flaming Thunder God)

Therefore, there are seven forms of this style.

There is only one derivation from this style, which is Breath of Sound.

3. a. Demon Slayer Breathing Technique: Breath of Sound

Breathe of Sound is used by Uzui Tengen. This breathing style is unique to the Sound Pillar, who uses this to attack demons with his flamboyant nichirin blades and bombs.

There are five forms in this style, with forms two and three unknown.

sound breathing

4. Demon Slayer Breathing Technique: Breath of Wind

This is also a breathing style that originates from Sun Breathing. The only user in Demon Slayer: Kimetsu No Yaiba who uses it is Shinazugawa Sanemi.

It is fast and unpredictable, making it perfect for offence-based attacks.

There are nine forms in this style, which have two derivations.

wind breathing

4.a. Demon Slayer Breathing Technique: Breath of Mist

This breathing style is used the most by Mist Pillar Tokito Muichiro. Mist breathing consists of seven forms. Muichiro himself made the seventh form, which is Sachi no Kata: Oboro (Seventh Form: Obscuring Clouds)

Consequently, the Breath of Mist now has seven forms, rather than six.


4. b. Demon Slayer Breathing Technique: Breath of the Beast

Though Hashibira Inosuke did not receive any formal training, it is believed that he unintentionally used Breath of Wind to create his own style while living in the wild.

This style has an impressive eleven forms.

5. Demon Slayer Breathing Technique: Breath of Stone

Himejima Gyomei is the only user of this breathing style in Demon Slayer.  

Just like what its namesake symbolizes, Breath of stone accentuates the strongest pillar’s abilities by providing him with the strength to manage his weapons for a devastating blow. This breathing style has five forms.


6. Demon Slayer Breathing Technique: Breath of Moon

This one was definitely a shocker, but isn’t it so cool? Upper Moon One, Kokushibo is the only user of the breath of the moon. Unable to perform the breath his brother created, he ended up making his own style.

Since Kokushibo is immortal, he definitely had lots of time to master this breath. This style has 16 forms! Hence, it can be argued that this is the most complex and difficult breathing style.

moon breathing

What is your favourite breathing style? Let us know!

P.S.: Here is a flowchart to easily remember the breathing styles made (painstakingly) just for you.

Breathing Styles Flowchart
Breathing Styles Explained With Infographic
  • Leave a Reply