Sousou No Frieren, Zom 100 & 10 Other Manga Get Nominated For 69th Shogakukan Manga Awards

69th Shogakukan Manga Awards

The official website of Shogakukan revealed a list of nominees for the 69th Shogakukan Manga Awards on Dec 7, 2023. A total of 12 manga have been nominated across various genres for the award this year, and for the first time ever there is no category wise division.

The winning works will be announced on Jan 18, 2024.

Here is a list of manga that have been nominated:

1. Unmei no Makimodo Shi – All Great Achievements Require Time by Futa Kimura

Unmei no Makimodo Shi - All Great Achievements Require Time

2. Kyo kara Papa wa Kami Desu. by Mitsuki Teramoto

Kyō kara Papa wa Kami Desu

3. Sousou No Frieren by Kanehito Yamada, Tsukasa Abe

Sousou No Frieren

4. The Elusive Samurai by Yusei Matsui

The elusive samurai

5. Suji de Asobo. by Murako Kinuta

Sūji de Asobo.

6. Black Girls Talk by Maki Makino

Black Girls Talk

7. Shujinkou Nikki by Yuu Yoshinaga

Shujinkou Nikki

8. Ice Castle Wall by Kocha Agasawa

Ice Castle Wall

9. Zom 100: Bucket List of the Dead by Haro Aso, Kotaro Takata

Zom 100 Bucket List of the Dead

10. Trillion Game by Riichirou Inagaki, Ryoichi Ikegami

Trillion Game

11. Shojiki Fudosan by Akira Otani, Mitsuhiro Mizuno, Takeshi Natsuhara

Shōjiki Fudōsan

12. Ya Boy Kongming! by Yuto Yotsuba, Ryo Ogawa

Ya Boy Kongming!

Titles that are selected for the 69th instalment of the award is based on those published in magazines, tankobon (collected volumes), web media, and other platforms since Jan 1, 2023.

The selection process involves gathering recommendations from judges, manga artists, critics, magazine/newspaper editors, relevant cultural organizations, bookstore personnel, and general readers. After aggregating these recommendations, collective evaluations and discussions take place to select the nominated works for each category.

The Shogakukan Manga Award is one of Japan’s major manga awards, and is sponsored by Shogakukan Publishing. It has been awarded annually for serialized manga and features candidates from a number of publishers. It is the oldest manga award in Japan, being given since 1955.

Source: Official Website

Leave a Reply