Hajime Isayama, Junji Ito & Others Awarded At 50th Angoulême Awards

Angoulême Festival ran from January 26 to January 29, 2023 in the Angoulême area of France.

Angouneme Awards

The 50th Angoulême International Comics Festival were announced on January 29, 2023 in which Hajime Isayama of Attack On Titan fame, Ryoichi Ikegami of Crying Freeman and horror manga fame, Junji Ito were awarded.

Fauve Special 50e

Fauves Honneur

Isayama was awarded with Fauve Spécial de la 50e édition award whereas Ikegami and Ito won Fauves d’Honneur award.


Furthermore, Chi No Wadachi of Shuzo Oshimi won the Prix de la série for best comic series. In addition, Hisashi Sakaguchi’s Ishi No Hana won Prix du Patrimoine honoring the work that left its mark on history.


Also, Heavenly Delusion (Tengoku-Daimaikyo) of Masakazu Ishiguro, Darwin Jihen by Shun Umezawa, Fool Night by Kasumi Yasuda, and Peleliu: Guernica Of Paradise by Kazuyoshi Takeda are official selection for the awards.

Angoulême Festival ran from January 26 to January 29, 2023 in the Angoulême area of France. The festival was launched in 1974 as an event celebrating comics from various countries, globally.

Attack on Titan is a Japanese manga series written and illustrated by Hajime Isayama. The manga was serialized in Kodansha’s monthly shonen manga magazine Bessatsu Shonen Magazine from September 2009 to April 2021, with its chapters collected in 34 tankōbon volumes.

Attack on Titan has become a critical and commercial success. As of September 2022, the manga has over 110 million tankōbon copies in print worldwide, making it one of the best-selling manga series of all time. It has won several awards, including the Kodansha Manga Award, the Attilio Micheluzzi Award, and the Harvey Award.

In North America, the series was published in English by Kodansha USA.

Source: Angoulême link 2link 3link 4link 5

Leave a Reply