‘Akane Banashi’, ‘Goodbye, Eri’ & Others Get Nominated For Manga Taisho Awards 2023

Manga Taisho Awards 2023

The official website of Manga Taisho awards revealed a list of 11 manga titles that have been nominated for the 16th edition of the awards on Jan 24, 2023. Among the titles that got nominated were Akane Banashi, Goodbye, Eri, The Summer Hikaru Died and others.

These 11 titles were decided after the first round of voting, in which 102 members of the executive committee had picked 242 titles that they would recommend to others.

The winner from these 11 titles will be chosen after the second round of voting. The winner will be announced at a ceremony in late March this year.

Only those manga titles which released in 2022 and have eight volumes or less were eligible to be considered for the awards.

The nominees for Manga Taisho 2023 includes:

Akane Banashi by Yuki Suenaga & Takamasa Moue

Akane Banashi

Onna no Sono no Hoshi by Yama Wayama

Onna no Sono no Hoshi

Gekiko Kamen by Takayuki Yamaguchi

Gekiko Kamen

Kore Kaite Shine by Minoru Toyoda

Kore Kaite Shine

Goodbye, Eri by Tatsuki Fujimoto

Goodbye, Eri

Super no Ura de Yani Su Futari by Jinushi

Two people smoking tar in the back of the supermarket

You and I are Polar Opposites by Kocha Agasawa

You and I are Polar Opposites

Takopi’s Original Sin by Taizen 5

Takopi's Original Sin

Tenmaku no Jadugal: A Witch’s Life in Mongol by Tomato Soup

Tenmaku no Jadugal: A Witch's Life in Mongol

Nippon Sangoku by Matsuki Ikka

Nippon Sangoku

The Summer Hikaru Died by Mokumokuren

The Summer Hikaru Died

Shun Umezawa’s Darwin Jihen (Darwin’s Incident) won the Manga Taiso award of 2022, whereas Kanehito Yamada and Tsukasa Abe’s Sousou No Frieren (Frieren: Beyond Journey’s End) won the grand prize at Manga Taisho Award 2021.

Manga Taisho Award was first handed out in 2008, with Shinichi Ishizuka’s Gaku: Minna no Yama manga winning the grand prize.

Source: Manga Taisho

Leave a Reply